Skip to content

Past sheriffs of Lincoln County

SHERIFF                                                      TERM

John Cody                                                 December 1883-May 1887

Robert D. Raridon                                     May 1887- May 1889

Richard Fish                                               May 1889-January 1893

Thomas P. Donahue                                   January 1893-January 1895

Samuel E. DeRackin                                   January 1895-December 1895

Frank Garber                                              January 1896-December 1896

Oscar G. Devenish                                     January 1897-December 1898

Jeremiah H. Gardner                                 January 1899-December 1902

John J. Inkster                                            January 1903-December 1906

John A. Level                                              January 1907-December 1910

William D. Brockman                                 January 1911-December 1914

John A. Level                                              January 1915-December 1918

Francis B. Rennie                                        January 1911-December 1914

Frank J. Gilpatric                                        January 1923-December 1930

Lewis R. Hutsell                                          January 1931-October 1937

Charles E. McCaffery                                 October 1937-December 1946

Frank C. Rambo                                         January 1947-December 1950

Charles E. McCaffery                                 January 1951-April 1959

James L. McCaffery                                   April 1959-August 1959

James E. Atwood                                      August 1959-January 1968

Clarence E. Coley                                     January 1968-December 1972

Donald L. Forbush                                   January 1973-December 1974

Ronald D. John                                        January 1975-October 1977

Melvin J. Merz                                        December 1977-October 1981

Danny D. Berry                                       April 1982-December 1998

John E. Coley                                          January 1999-December 2006

Wade W. Magers                                   January 2007-June 2022

Gabe P. Gants                                        July 2022-PRESENT 

*During the time between Sheriff Merz resignation and the appointment of Sheriff Berry, prosecutor Phillip Borst served as acting sheriff.